Georgia CLE Requirements
Georgia attorneys are required to complete 12 hours of CLE each year. At least 1 hour must be in the area of Ethics, and at least 1 hour must be in the area of Professionalism. Trial attorneys in Georgia must also complete 3 of 12 hours of Trial Skills. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by March 31st each year.
Attorneys may carry over up to 12 hours of CLE credit to the following year.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Newly admitted members are required to take the Transition Into Law Practice Program. The Transition Into Law Practice Program consists of two components:
Attendance at the Enhanced Bridge-the-Gap program, or the Fundamentals of Law Practice program of the Institute of Continuing Legal Education, or a comparable program approved by the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency; and
Completion of a Mentoring Plan of Activities and Experiences.
Georgia attorneys may view up to 6 hours of CLE through online courses.
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state"s CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.